Just Me and 2,000 Other Women

Let me preface this entry by apologizing for the disturbing amount of time that has passed since I last posted. I know my avid readers (Mom) have missed the narrations about my daily activities, but I’ve decided to at least try to start posting again. Responsibility for this goes mostly to Amanda Brant, whose blog is way wittier and more poignant that mine will ever be. Be sure to check her out (by clicking on her name above). Also to blame is…

my SUPER inspiring day! I’ve never felt more energized and simultaneously inadequate at the same time. Let me explain…

Today I attended the ICAN Women’s Leadership Conference at the Century Link Center. Thanks to the generosity of the Creighton College of Business, I was able to listen to amazing keynote speakers (Arianna Huffington and Jeanette Walls) and participate in some thought provoking break-out sessions. It was incredible to see the passion and potential of just a fraction of Omaha’s female work force. I was disappointed, however, at the realization that I am not yet among them.

As some of you may know (Mom), I am still searching for the elusive summer internship. After many emailed resumes and in-person interviews, I have yet to be presented with even one offer. What I’ve been struggling to cope with is the feeling that I really would have done all of those jobs well, if only I was given the chance. But alas, no chances just yet. As my search continues, I will trudge along with some helpful insights from today’s conversations:

1. “Everything will work out in the end. If it hasn’t worked out, it’s not the end.”

2. As the cliche goes, “When one door closes, another one opens.” But what I realized, is that there are literally thousands of doors that I haven’t even found yet. When the door to company A closes, doors to companies B through ZZZZZZZ are still there. And that’s pretty comforting.

Well that’s all I got for today. So happy to be back! Hope you are too :]

Leave a Reply

